The Lord Clyde is tucked away right at the heart of the ancient Borough, where 2,000 years ago the original Roman road ran north to the city of Londinium. Even surronding street names will give a flavour of our historical associations: Tabard, Little Dorrit, Copperfield, Pickwick, Mint, Quilp, Lant, Weller and Marshalsea.
The licencee's and The Lord Clyde itself add some history into the area. An inn has stood on the site of The Lord Clyde for over 300 year. The present building, with its unique faience facade of glazed coloured earthenware tiles, today remains all but exactly as rebuilt in 1913. Also the Fitzpatrick family have been at the helm of the pub for 50 years, spanning three generations. In 1956, Denis and Molly took over the tenancy, to which their son Micheal succeeded in 1975. The pub in now in the hands of Michaels son Martin and the warm hospitality, fine ales and hearty home cooked food that have become a family tradition for 50 years are still going strong today.
A Gem of pub tucked away on one of the tiniest streets in London